‘Revolution Radio’ out on October 7, Welcome Back Green Day!

The band was formed three decades ago and with Revolution Radio Green Day is sending out a message that they are still in the going. They will survive and bring alive their fans. Welcome back Green Day!

Revolution Radio, as a title doesn’t complement the whole attire of the song and video. Looks like they really needed to do some title optimization. The lyrics and music is a little uncertain at some places. Apart from the rallying cry of it’s title the sound of the band is more like rediscovering themselves again.

The song has no overarching themes which is good and it is a simple collection of a dozen songs. Green day doesn’t forget to blow the fans by using their signature three-chord ­assaults.

Here’s the Track-List For “Revolution Radio” releasing on 7th October, 2016

1. Somewhere Now
2. Bang Bang
3. Revolution Radio
4. Say Goodbye
5. Outlaws
6. Bouncing Off the Wall
7. Still Breathing
8. Young blood
9.  Too Dumb To Die
10. Troubled Times
11. Forever Now
12. Ordinary World

Green Day – Revolution Radio Review

Read through the reviews and share your experience after listening to the Green Day album.

From all the songs “Bang Bang” is probably the best single since their hit American Idiot. The song very well written and composed. The song talks about psychosis behind mass shootings and feelings of being furious and relentless .The title track of “Driving” deftly talks about the Black Lives Matter protests sweeping the US. It is another standout song from the album with a great sequence of chorus that is as giddy as it is potent.

Forever Now talks about living a good comforting life in a musical way. It shows the meticulous barrage of paradoxes that says, “If this is what you call the good life/I want a better way to die.” The different variants and musical bits used in the song are uniquely good. This line sung by Armstrong “How did a life on the wild side ever get so full?” – full, presumably of questions, complications and the drive to confront them, says much about the song itself.

“Ordinary World.” is also the title song of a movie, which will be out soon.  Armstrong typical as a punk-rock beats pumps up the energy. the line “Baby I don’t have much/but what we have is more than enough,” sums up the song basically.

Meanwhile there are few mishaps from the album one of them is  “Young blood” – which is an ode to Armstrong’s wife, and it also lacks the punk flavor and sounds really repetitive.

Even in “Outlaws”, the performance of the band is very average. The music sounds like crunching heavy guitars and they also merge some pre-rock melodies from the 1950s which sounds more like a pastiche than something soothing.

The album ends well with the solo acoustic ballad “Ordinary World” and is worth listening too. Talking about drugs, desires and addictions and when Armstrong who himself is a recovering alcoholic says “I don’t have much / But what we have is more than enough,” you can’t help but feel the words and get moved.

You can also read our article “Music Albums Set To Release For October 7, 2016” for more information on all the album releases this week.

Image Credits

About The Author