AC/DC announces new album ‘Rock or Bust’, bids farewell to Malcolm Young

Rock or Bust is AC/DC’s 17th studio album. Sadly, Malcolm Young is no longer a part of it.

Australian hard rock band AC/DC has announced their 17th studio album Rock or Bust, while also declaring that their founding guitarist Malcolm Young would no longer be a working part of the band, owing to illness, on September 23, 2014. This will be the first album in the history of the band that will not feature Young in the recordings. The new record will be released on November 28, 2014.

Produced by Brendan O’Brien, Rust or Bust is the AC/DC’s first album in six years after their 2008 album Black Ice, which sold eight million albums world wide. As a teaser, the track Play Ball from the new album will be released on September 27, 2014 as part of the Major League Baseball post-season campaign.

AC/DC also announced a world tour in support of the new album for 2015, where Young will be replaced by his nephew Stevie Young. 

In April 2014, responding to various reports about the band’s retirement, its members stated that they had been unable to perform because of Young’s illness. It has been reported now that the guitarist has been moved into a full-time care nursing home facility specializing in dementia in Sydney. 

AC/DC has sold more than 200 million albums, feature at or near the top of highest grossing tour lists whenever they play live and were the standard bearers for Australian music years

Photo Credits: The NY Post'
About The Author