Leonard Cohen’s ‘You Want It Darker’ Releases this October 21

October 21 marks the day Leonard Cohen, at the incredible age of 82, releases his newest album titled You Want It Darker. This is his first record since his 2014’s Popular Problems. For those of you who can’t wait for October 21, you can stream the album now on NPR.

This album features nine tracks, all produced by his son, Adam Cohen including the title track “I’m ready my lord”, which premiered in the Netflix series Peaky Blinders. Those close to Leonard Cohen describe this LP as a classic Cohen album and a masterpiece.

“I struggled with some demons/ They were middle class and tame” shuts off the avenue of “woe-is-me” whining.” – from the opening second of You Want It Darker, Leonard Cohen

Is this Leonard Cohen’s Last Work?

Sadly, this may be his last album and at 82, he is not sure whether he’ll be able to release a follow-up to this album. It’s understandable considering that the last few months have not been easy for Leonard Cohen, having lost his beloved Marianne a few months back and his own health deteriorating.

“I am ready to die. I hope it’s not too uncomfortable. That’s about it for me”, Leonard Cohen.

During a recent interview, he came off as a man who has comes to terms with his mortality by stating that he’s ready to die. Not surprisingly, this did not go down well with some of his fans and he had to retract that statement, no one should be this self-deprecating, not even you Mr. Cohen! He might be ready to go but his fans aren’t.

Leonard Cohen’s age is not evident in this album, and this is a good thing. He’s voice remains assured, and strong along with some playful humor in the language.

Here’s the Complete Track List from Leonard Cohen’s 14th Album ‘You Want It Darker’;

  1. You want it darker
  2. Treaty
  3. On the level
  4. Leaving the table
  5. If I didn’t have your love
  6. Travelling light
  7. It seemed the better way
  8. Steer your way
  9. String reprise/treaty

You can pre-order it here.

Go ahead and purchase your favorite Leonard Cohen merchandise and records right here!

Image Credits

About The Author