Prophets Of Rage (Finally!) Make Their Debut

Supergroup Prophets Of Rage couldn’t have been formed at a better time. With the US Presidential elections just around the corner and ongoing debates about the candidates themselves along with some of their outrageous policies (we are looking at you, Mr. Trump) and political unrest in the world (ref: the Syrian refugee crisis), music needs to make a serious comeback and awaken the masses.

Prophets Of Rage consists of a combination of members of some of the best groups of the 90s – Rage Against The Machine (RATM), Public Enemy and Cyprus Hill. In fact, RATM forms a major part of Prophets – Tom Morello, Tim Commerford and Brad Wilk, with only former vocalist Zack de la Rocha missing in action (his comrades have stated that he is working on a soon-to-be released project). The band also includes Public Enemy’s Chuck D and Cyprus Hill’s B-Real. Once again, it’s going to be music to our ears to get a combination of hard rock with rap. Hell, yeah.

Prophets Of Rage Logo

Prophets Of Rage

Photo Credit

Speculation on Prophets Of Rage began earlier when mysterious posters started showing up all around Los Angeles along with a countdown clock on the supergroup’s OFFICIAL WEBSITE. Fans were excited and expected a reunion of the former Killing In The Name Of hit makers, since their last appearance in 2011. However, the newly formed band came forth and made a statement, saying that this was in no way a reunion of RATM. Tom Morello stated: “We’re not a supergroup. We’re an elite task force of revolutionary musicians determined to confront this mountain of election year bullshit, and confront it head-on with Marshall stacks blazing.” Uh, everyone votes in favor of THIS, Morello!

So Prophets Of Rage’s first performance happened at Los Angeles’ iconic Whiskey a Go Go to giddy-headed fans thirsty for some politically aroused good music that hasn’t been around for a long time. Hopefully, we will get to see more of this supergroup, as well as Zack’s magic this year.

About The Author